Studio Ghibli Tier List

My partner and I are a Ghibli household. There is generational appreciation for these films and throughout the pandemic, these mastahPIECES offered respite in the storm. Akin to the potato tier list before this one, ranking Ghibli movies offers a unique problem that each movie is delightful in its own right.

I did not watch every movie made by Studio Ghibli, but I did watch enough to rank every featured film where Hayao Miyazaki is the screenwriter in charge. Thus, this tier list will just be that. Within each tier my favorites are ranked left to right.

S Tier – Standing up and clapping after, annual tradition worthy, mastahPIECE

Kiki’s Delivery Service, The Wind Rises, My Neighbor Totoro, Castle in the Sky

A Tier – Reeeally incredible, no noteworthy flaws, loved

Porco Rosso, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Secret World of Arrietty

B Tier – Outstanding, inventive, scene/two I didn’t love but overall wonderful

Ponyo, Spirited Away, Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

C Tier – Really high quality, has moments I didn’t love but overall appreciative

Whisper of the Heart, Princess Mononoke, From Up on Poppy Hill

D Tier – Not a Miyazaki film

F Tier – lol

And that’s the list! I noticed I have a hankerin’ for aviation themes (which half the movies have here to some extent).

Bonus Content:

Back in 2013 (pre-dating this blog!) I made my own personal expansions for a board game called “Smash Up.” One of the expansions I made is Ghibli themed. I didn’t exactly make them.. balanced, but it fills me up to see my lifelong love for Miyazaki films and how much they inspired my creativity. I remember watching Kiki’s and Totoro before I was six. At Thanksgiving gatherings growing up, sometimes my relatives would have the newest movie on in the background. I’m just so thankful these creations exist.

“Never stop creating” – Sam Williams

Leave a comment